Page 107 of 138

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: May 27th, 2014, 12:39 pm
by laila_6045
City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare

Genre : YA, paranormal
Another entertaining installment. But i was left broken hearted over MALEC huhuhu! i just hope they will get back together in the final book and that there will be an epic showdown between Sebastian's minions and Clary's side. I am kinda nervous who will not make it in the end :( 4/5 stars!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: May 27th, 2014, 12:56 pm
by laila_6045
Prep School Confidential #1 by Kara Taylor
Genre : YA, contemporary, boarding school, mystery, suspense, romance

Man i love Anne Dowling! she is tanacious to a T! i kinda dig her attitude. She also have her vulnerable side and that makes her also relatable. After getting expelled from a prestigious school in NY her parents finally sent her to a boarding school another prestigious but very preppy school of Wheatley Academy where it will be the turning point of her life. A week into her school and her roommate was found murdered in a forest nearby their school and when she finds disturbing things about her roommate she was determined to get into the bottom of it. The writing was compelling and with just the right pacing and combination of teenage angst, humour and it did not sacrifice the authenticity of boarding school atmosphere and life as a student.

Wicked Little Secrets (Prep School Confidential #2)
Another amazeball installment. Anne is back and despite her resolve to be a good model student this time...but coming across a photo that sucks her back to another mystery and maybe even another murder that is date back decades ago which also involves Wheatley's Academy Alum and what's more maybe even someone close to her current beau.

Deadly Little Sins (Prep School Confidential #3)
A great series ender for this one. Although there were certain aspect of it that was left kinda unresolve for me at least i have a feeling with the way this one ended it will not be the last time we will be hearing about Anne. I always knew that with her talent in spying...she was bound to some special government career. She has grown considerably in the course of the series. Before a spoiled privileged girl she has somehow matured despite her penchant to breaking school rules but her heart is in the right place. She just need a more grounded environment wherein she can hone in her skills like in the *** hehehe!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: May 27th, 2014, 1:02 pm
by laila_6045
Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik

Genre: YA contemporary
A retelling of the classic Pride and Prejudice in a high school setting. This was not a good version in my opinion. It feel short of my expectations. The characters did not stand out to me...nothing new in their personality. It felt too cliche and it was just okay for me but not that terrible either. 2/5 stars.

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: May 30th, 2014, 12:18 am
by aaagelserrano
Finished another Tara Sivec's amazing books! :) "Fool Me Once" series. It's a short one, so you can read it for a day ;) Book review up on my blog! :)

aaagelserrano.blogspot.com

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: May 31st, 2014, 4:03 pm
by chabbychabs
Thirst by Christopher Pike. the first two books were awesome!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: June 1st, 2014, 11:18 pm
by laila_6045
All or Nothing trilogy by CC Gibbs

Genre : Erotica Adult Contemporary Romance
All He wants #1
All He Needs #2
All He Desires #3

If you are into another alpha male billionaire who has a penchant for kinks then this one is for you. Fans of Fifty Shades, Crossfire series will find this one familiar territory. Although not one of the best series of this genre in my opinion i end enjoying the first book the best out of the series. Dominic is such a control freak that I am pissed off in certain scenes. But he is such a talented bedsportman.hehehe!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: June 1st, 2014, 11:28 pm
by laila_6045
Night School series by C.J. Daugherty
Genre : YA, mystery, suspense, romance

Night School #1 - 2/5
Legacy #2 - 3/5
Fracture #3 - 2/5

I enjoyed book 2 more out of the three. This one is such a slow start. At first i thought it was some kind of a paranormal plot but it wasn't. It's about a secret organization behind this secret night class in an exclusive boarding school called Cimmeria Academy and technology is not allowed in school like computers, mobile phones and such. Allison found herself enrolled here after her parents have enough of her troubled ways when she got arrested the third time in a year. I have mixed emotions while reading this one. I just want the important facts to be revealed already coz there are times that it's been dragging and i am afraid i will soon lose interest. There is a love triangle. And i am curious enough how Sylvain will fare in the end in that triangle. There is more to him than meets the eye. Carter feels like every other misunderstood bad boy who smirks a lot (yawn). Allie is very impulsive and i just wish she stops being self absorb. However, there were unpredictable twist that keeps up the momentum of the story.

The next installment the fourth in the series is coming out soon. I forgot when! I think its this month!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: June 1st, 2014, 11:43 pm
by laila_6045
Just One Day by Gayle Forman - 3/5 stars
Genre : New Adult, contemporary romance

It was a slow start not so engaging for me for the first half of the book. Allie need more personality and thankfully when she decided to go back to Paris despite the slim chance of ever finding Willem i slowly began to feel invested in her goal and that along the way she had a self discovery and found new awesome friends! That ending left me hanging

Just One Year (Just One Day #2) in Willem's POV - 4/5 stars
This is the story of the other side of that coin. And I am happy that i find his journey more riveting. His coping mechanism by traveling all over the continent, and being lost until he found himself really appealed to me. The ending left me hanging as well.

Just One Night (Just One Day #2.5) a novella companion. 5/5 stars!
I was really happy that the author decided to give a final closure to their story of what other events that transpire right after they saw each other again after one year, when Allison knocks on Willem's door and Willem's shocked surprise with an unexpected guest knowing that both have been finding ways to look for each other with the very minimal information they have about each other. DOUBLE HAPPINESS!!!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: June 1st, 2014, 11:50 pm
by laila_6045
City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

Finally this series has been laid to rest. I got my EPIC war although it was the darkest time in the history of the shadowhunters. I got my Malec, Clace, Jessa, Ismon FEELSSSSS!!!!
One moment i was devastated the next i was laughing out loud. So it was not all bleak all through the book. Cassie sure knows how to end a series. Even though i've always thought that it should have ended in book 3 but this one gave justice to this series. Infernal Devices finally meets TMI!!! There is a new series as a spin off from this series. I am calling my on the making OTP JULEM = Julian and Emma :) they are still very young here though but you will never know!

Re: Latest book you have finished

PostPosted: June 13th, 2014, 8:32 pm
by laila_6045
Carnage (Carnage #1) by Lesley Jones

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance, Rock Star, drama
Rate : 4/5
I love a romance with a relationship that was build up from long term friendship over the years. It is about young love, losing love to fame and other vices and getting second chances. I find this a familiar territory and even though it wasn't something new but i like how the author executed this story. This one left me quite devastated for the heroine. I warned you that this will not end happy but there will be a sequel i think. There are some things not yet resolved.
Contain sexual contents.